Correlation with the theory of states of the brain

Profgio

Correlation with the theory of states of the brain

Post by Profgio »

Hello James, I am doing tests to corroborate the emotional states or brain activity that can be observed with the muse, but I have some doubts.

Supposedly the states correspond to the predominance like this:

- Sleeping - Delta

- Dreaming / Tired- Tetha

- Relax- Alpha

- Alertness- beta

- Excited- gamma

I did two sessions, one of meditation and the other working. And I have the following questions:

1.Why is Delta so high in meditation?

2.Why are theta and delta so high working?

3.The best way to verify this dominance is with average minutes / relative bw. ?

Here the images and file.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

Thanks
James
Site Admin

Re: Correlation with the theory of states of the brain

Post by James »

#1 - 2: Bear in mind that I'm a programmer, not a neuroscientist! So all my knowledge is just personal research.
The brain is doing MANY many things all the time, so I think that e.g. "Delta = Sleeping", is just one possible condition.
What we observe in the Muse brainwaves can be caused from many different things. For example, if you close your eyes and feel a breeze on your face, you could say "Breeze on face = Wind" , but it could be from a large truck passing you by, or a desk fan.

I think the above brain states are what you will see if you're doing that thing, but they don't mean that if you see that brain state, that is what you are doing.

So if you are sleeping you will see high Delta, but you could get high Delta from other things.
It's pretty well known that high delta can be caused by EMG interference (muscle movement), but looking at your sample data, it looks very good, so I don't believe, that is what is happening in this case. So for this sample set, I'm not sure why there is high delta, sorry!